I’ll take Garden Fresh!

This is the second year with our small, organic garden. Last year our schedule kept us from spending much time with the garden and our yield was minimal. This summer we have been able to give it a little more attention. However, the hot, dry weather has been a challenge.

We added organic manure, compost we worked through the winter, and some new soil to our lasagna garden beds from last year. The plants have looked so much healthier. We have not used any fertilizer or pesticides. Last year I did have to spray the plants with a mixture of diluted dish soap and garlic to kill the bugs. But we haven’t seemed to have any pests this year. (I will keep watching.)

We enjoyed our first summer squash. It was such a bright, sunshine yellow it looked painted. It was as beautiful inside as it was on the outside. (I wish I had photographed that as well.) We sautéed it with some garlic and onions. It was delicious!

Our broccoli didn’t do so well. The plants grew, but only produced very small florets. They never produced any heads. If anyone knows a trick to growing broccoli, I would love to hear it.

The tomatoes are coming on strong. Although we haven’t had any ripe ones yet, it won’t be long. I can’t wait! Garden fresh tomatoes are my favorite. My mouth waters just thinking about eating a tomato sandwich. We still have a few small bags of diced tomatoes in the freezer from last year’s garden. (I’ll tell you how I prepared them in a future blog.) They were wonderful to use this past winter instead of the flavorless ones found in the produce section.

Our pride and joy this year is Greg’s grape vine. He planted it three years ago and has babied it waiting for this season. We have been amazed at the large quantity of bunches ripening on the vine. Within the next week or two we will be covering them with some netting. We have no intention of letting the birds eat our grapes before we get to them! My plans for them include grape juice, grape jelly, and frozen grapes. I’ll take pictures when they are ripe.

About homesteadhandiworks

Lover of Truth. Married to Greg 11 happy years. SAHM. Home Educator. Awe-inspired by the gift of Creation. Beginning the journey to self-sustaining, self-sufficient, organic, living in my own backyard.
This entry was posted in agrarian living, Food, Homestead Happenings, organic living, Our Gardens and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I’ll take Garden Fresh!

  1. Karen says:

    You are lucky you haven’t had any pests as yet. I have had so many Japanese beetles and just starting to get green horn worms on the tomato plants. Don’t have any ripe tomatoes yet.

    • Karen,
      Thank you for taking the time to read my blog. I do feel very blessed not having to deal with pests this year. The diluted dish soap (10:1 water:dish soap) with crushed garlic was very helpful last year. I have also heard that picking the bugs and putting them in the food processor with water makes an excellent herbicide. Apparently the pheremones warn the other bugs away. I haven’t tried it yet, but it might be worth a try. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

